Universities of the Coimbra Group offer short-term visits to young researchers from higher education institutions from countries in the European Neighbourhood. The main aim of this scholarship programme is to enable scholars to undertake research in which they are engaged in their home institution and to help them establish academic and research contacts.

The eligible countries for the 2017 edition are the following:

Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Egypt, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo*, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority, Russia, Serbia, Syria, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

The scheme is intended for young academics (normally those under the age of 35).  Applicants should be nationals of and current residents in one of the above-listed countries, and be current academic staff members of a university located in one of the above-mentioned eligible countries or an equivalent higher education institution. Furthermore, in most cases they should be of postdoctoral or equivalent status, although some institutions may offer opportunities to doctoral students.

Deadline for applications: 31 March 2017

On-line application form available here: www.coimbra-group.eu/activities/scholarships

For further information, please contact Anna Quici (quici@coimbra-group.eu).